Hackschooling: Yes or No?

19519414113_d108e8a589_b

I have seen Logan LaPlante’s TED Talk, “Hackschooling Makes Me Happy” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h11u3vtcpaY) before in another class, but I hadn’t analyzed it like I have now. What do you want to be when you’re older is not the question people should be asking children because they’re looking for a career or job as the response. What they need to be asking is what do you want to do when you’re older if they want that career response. I like Logan’s answer to the first question, “I want to be happy when I’m older.” I think that is what every student should want to be when they’re older. But sadly, some kids are even wishing for it now because they don’t have happiness in their life. Logan made a good point that education is orientated towards making a living rather than making a life. It may not be intentional but I think this is a key issue to worry about. They always say that you should pick a career that you  love doing but I don’t think that schools stress that enough. I always get the question why do you want to be a teacher, they don’t get paid well at all. My response is yes it would be nice to make more money but I chose to be a teacher not for the money, but to work with students everyday to help better than as a student and a person. One of my goals is to have a family someday, teaching provides the perfect schedule to have one, and that is what makes me happy. I grew up in a family where education is valued, but they also value being happy. Schools need to find a balance where they make education important, but also how to be happy and healthy. Some people say that they should be gaining that knowledge outside of school. What happens when a child isn’t getting that guidance, then what?

I think the idea of hackschooling is great but may not work for everyone. Hackschooling would be a lot of individual motivation and a lot of self-learning. I’m sure some kids what appreciate getting to pick and chose the opportunities that they want to work on, but you would need a great community to work with and a great support system. There are some students that will not think critically about the hackschooling they’re doing and be able to relate it to other subjects.

After reading Bud Hunt’s post, I picked out some of the key points that stood out to me. I liked the beginning of his post where he relates learning and experiences to looking through different lenses like a camera. “Lenses are good for focusing on what matters in a given situation or challenge, or opportunities.” By changing lenses, it’s like getting a new view of what you see around you. How you see is how you look. Learning happens when you make, hack, and play. You don’t necessarily have to have all three, but it would benefit from being able to do all three. By using these, it opens up new thoughts and experiences.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I completely agree that hackschooling is not for everyone but for some it is the perfect opportunity. I can say from personal experience that the traditional school setting is not for everyone and i think someone very close to me would have benefited from hackschooling greatly!

    Like

    1. I agree with you and I think this would help to differentiate instruction and try and meet those needs of students that like the idea of hackschooling to learn. It’s just the issue of trying to find a happy medium for all of the types of learners in your class.

      Like

  2. morgan13hays says:

    Great blog post! I think it is great how you mentioned that schools should stress the fact that the career you pick should make you happy, not just for the money. I also completely agree with you when it comes to the fact that teaching is all about the intrinsic rewards and not about the money.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the comment! I think it’s great that we will be able to change that about teaching someday!

      Like

  3. Thoughtful response. When I first took a job as a Paraprofessional, my goal was to be around when my children would be off from school. With most jobs that is such a hassle to deal with. Who knew I would find that passion or career choice that would drive me not only to improve my teaching but to push students to their highest potential too.

    Like

    1. Honestly that is one of the many reasons I chose to become a teacher is so in the future I could be on the same schedule as my kids and have the summers to spend with them. My mom is a teacher and we got to create so many memories during the summer and breaks.

      Like

  4. ataft4482 says:

    I have had the same reaction to wanting to be a teacher. Why does it always have to be about the money. I am becoming a teacher because the thought of helping a child with special needs obtain a productive future makes me happy. I think we are spending too much time cramming useless education do students throats for the sake of a good standardize test score. Instead we need to be giving them life lessons and experiences they can build on. We need to educate then with the information that is useful to their future. I know it would be hard but I have often felt that by high school, school should be more ala carte, and students pick and choose the classes that they need to develop skills towards their future instead of being forced to take an geometry that they would never need to be a vet, for example. I also think schools at the high school level need to offer more trade classes for those that want to go into a trade.Then we are preparing them for life and not just getting them ready to make a living.

    Like

    1. I agree. I think standardized testing isn’t the most effective way to test a child’s knowledge. I really like both of your ideas for the high school! You need to let your suggestions be heard.

      Like

Leave a Reply

