Your Body Language Shapes Who You Are

Are you this?                                                                                  Or this?

I chose to watch this TED talk video for a couple reasons. One is because in one of my other classes we are learning about language disorders and how nonverbal communication is affected by it. I thought this would tie nicely into some of that information I have previously learned. Another reason is because when I become a teacher, I’m going to need to know the signs of nonverbal communication and how to improve the well being of the student.

There are many different  nonverbal encounters, facial expressions, and gestures that allow people to judge and predict what this person is feeling or who this person is. There are many judgments made from body language. One example that Amy Cuddy gave during her was experts would watch a 30 second soundless clip of an interaction between a patient and a physician. Just in that short time, they were about to tell if the physician would be sued because of the niceness and not the competence of the physician. Another example she gave was judgments of political candidates faces in just one second predicts 70% of the senates race outcomes.

Power in body language is expressed in the animal kingdom such as expanding their bodies to make them look bigger for a more powerful presence. When animals are feeling powerless or when another animal is showing them power they close and make themselves smaller. Just like animals, humans do the same thing.

In the classroom, the same type of actions take place. A person that is less confident, just slightly raises their hand whereas the opposite would hold it nice and high. Gender does have something to do with this because most women feel less powerful to men. In my future classroom, I would want all genders and students to feel power and to be confident in raising their hands and actions.

Not only are we judge from our nonverbal language, but it also dictates how we think of ourselves. A good point Amy made was when we pretend to be powerful, we will most likely be powerful. Same thing goes for being happy. It is told that are minds can change our bodies but our bodies also change our minds. I really like this part of the talk because it fights perfectly in with my Independent Learning Project. I want students to know that if they put their mind towards something they can accomplish it. Part of that is believing in themselves and showing it through their body language. I want to use the advice in my classroom that Amy gave during her talk. For example if a student thinks that she is not a very good speaker in front of the class, I want her to fake it until she becomes it (my favorite phrase in the talk). By believing that you are something, you will most likely become it. Tiny tweaks create big changes.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I really liked the format of your blog with the video followed by two defining pictures! I am having a heck of a time embedding the video into my blog, even with the help of google. Any tips would be appreciated!

    Also, I really enjoyed your fake it til you make it section. I agree that pretending you are confident helps boost your confidence. Have you ever found yourself in a position where you had to use this method and it succeeded? I feel like I have, but I can’t come up with a specific example off the top of my head.

    Like

    1. I did have some trouble at the beginning. I kept copying and pasting the wrong link to embed it. This is sort of vague but it’s the second one wants you get past the embedding button. It is the shorter one. Let me know if that helps. If not I can give you a better description. Yes I would agree with you. I can’t think of anything specific but I know it has helped! I appreciate your comments and let me know on the embedding part.

      Like

Leave a Reply

