Change is Good

At first I didn’t know what I wanted to do for my Independent Learning Project because there are still so many things that I would like to learn about. Growing up, education didn’t allow much time to learn independently about your interests. I mean sometimes they would give you an option like do a research paper on any animal of your choice. Yes that is still giving you freedom and control of your education but not exactly the same thing. We were still told how to do the assignment instead of choosing how we wanted to learn about it.

Even though I don’t have to blog about it, I still try to keep learning about my interest as much as I can. The more I read everyone else’s blogs got me thinking. There are so many different topics and information that is going to be shared and I cannot wait to read about everyone’s progress. I decided to do learn more about active and healthy lifestyles. When I was reading I notice that some people had the same idea as me. I was going to change it to do something more original but then I was thinking how great would it be to bounce ideas back and forth which each other.

Growing up we were a very active lifestyle and even to these day I’m still very active. Even if it may not be an intense workout everyday, I’m always still trying to do something active. My downfall is food. I need to practice my self-discipline and remember that it’s okay to have some unhealthy things but in moderation and portions. I think being in shape and feeling good about myself has always been an issue in my life and it’s very important to me to get to that lifestyle I want and to be more confident in myself. I’m a pretty open person and I’m usually pretty upbeat and positive but I think when I get to a point in my health that I’m comfortable with, it will shine through that much more.

Not only is this important to me, but I think when I start teaching I want my students to feel that way about theirselves. This doesn’t mean they have to be skinny or what not but I want them to love theirselves. At the same time I would like to incorporate more active activities in the classroom and talk about what healthy and unhealthy decisions are.

I feel like I am always looking up ways to accomplish this goal on Pinterest and many other sites that share information and ideas to start and continue a healthy lifestyle. I think be practicing information I find in life and trying to inspire someone else to do the same will teach me how to motivate myself and also others without being pushy.

I have tried many different workouts, recipes, exercises, and anything just to kickstart something. I always start it but never seem to stick with them. I know I can do it, just need to be more determined and confident in my ability. I have been on this journey for awhile but I think it’s time I’m going to finish it. It’s important to me in all aspects of my life and I think it will be really fun to see the progress I make in more than one way.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. This is an awesome goal or independent learning project. I am trying to do that as well through another class i am taking. I agree i would feel so much better about myself if i was in shape and ate healthy. I am in a downfall. i work with toddlers everyday so i am active in that aspect but i need to get a workout buddy and do more activity and watch what i eat. Good luck

    Like

    1. I have tried many times, but I’m hoping I am successful this time. I just fall short on the eating part. I have the active part covered, just like it sounds like you do. It is so much easier when you have someone to do it with because they keep you accountable!

      Like

  2. Taylor, I think this is a great idea for a project! I also completely understand you when it comes to eating. I have a major sweet tooth, and practicing self discipline in terms of proportioning out these foods is definitely a challenge for me. It’s because of this that I worry about gaining weight. I mean, I’m active and all, it’s just when you’re in college and everything you don’t really have time to do the things you want to do. Anyway, best of luck! Josh

    Like

    1. It is something I’ve wanted for awhile so why not incorporate it into an assignment! That’s how I feel. The active part isn’t my problem, and sadly when it comes to loosing weight its a lot of what you eat! Thank you!

      Like

      1. Right on! Unfortunately that is true. Josh

        Like

Leave a Reply

