ds106

ds106 is nothing like I’ve ever heard of before. When I was reading the instructions for this week, I thought it was just a type of software program, basically like the previous information we’ve been checking. I was pleasantly surprised to find out it is not that at all. Instead it is an actual course that anyone can take at anytime, and can also leave at anytime. In the back of my mind, I’m thinking there has got to be a catch. But really it’s just connecting your blog to ds106. I’m not sure if there is any charge or fees because the call it a “non-course course.” I haven’t found anything saying there is so far! How doesn’t like free stuff? I think this is great that they gave this opportunity to anyone that is interested.

I”m not going to lie, I’m a little overwhelmed with this site. There is so much information and so many different sections and links that explain and give views about ds106. I have needed more than 30-45 minutes to research. My favorite thing so far is being able to start and stop this program whenever you want to. I think that people don’t pursue some opportunities because it is bad timing or not convenient at that time. Well they don’t have an excuse now with this program. The downfall to this is if you’re not in it all the way, then it won’t be beneficial. It is self-made. You can take it as far as you want to take it. ds106 gives you the Quick Start and basics, but then it’s you who decides what you do with it.

I think this would be a great “non-course course” for older grades especially high school. I would like to look at this over summer when I have some more time. Once I become a teacher, I may not have my students using this because they will be lower elementary student, but instead using it to spark some ideas that I can use in the classroom and have them try. I can always tweak ideas and turn them in to my own lessons and activities for these younger students.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I found both of the videos you embedded in your blog to be extremely helpful Taylor! I think a lot of us were uneasy about what we were to be researching this week. I kind of like that about this class. We aren’t being spoon fed information, but are required to go out and find it ourselves. The topics are also not super complex or out of our skill sets so the research isn’t stressful! I know you said that you didn’t plan on having your students use ds106 because of their age, but is it a program you would want to use in your personal life?

    Like

    1. To be honest I would have to agree. I was extremely overwhelmed for awhile. I tend to freak myself out a little too much. I think if I would do the work everyday it would be extremely beneficial to my personal life. I could learn how to use many different types of technology and exploration.

      Like

  2. tessgorsuch says:

    Taylor, I was overwhelmed and confused on the site, just like you were! I think you understood it more than I did though, so reading your blog helped clear it up for me! It is a course that anyone can take. I wonder what the course is over? Interesting to think about! Good post.

    Like

    1. I’m glad I was not the only one! That is good that it helped you. I’m not sure if you looked at the Daily Create Challenge but I feel the same way about that as well. I know that the Daily Create Challenge is used within the course, or at least that is what I gathered from my research.

      Like

Leave a Reply

